Tuesday, July 1, 2014

Recent Lyme Research, Politics, News and Events


New insights into stages of Lyme disease symptoms from a novel hospital-based registry (Journal of Primary Care and Community Health)  http://jpc.sagepub.com/content/early/2014/06/24/2150131914540693.short

Bacterial tick-borne diseases caused by Bartonella spp., Borrelia burgdorferi sensu lato, Coxiella burnetii, and Rickettsia spp. among patients with cataract surgery (Medical Science Monitor)  http://www.medscimonit.com/abstract/index/idArt/890149

DNA Sequencing Diagnosis of Off-Season Spirochetemia with Low Bacterial Density in Borrelia burgdorferi and Borrelia miyamotoi Infections (International Journal of Molecular Sciences) - see attached .pdf

Granulomatous hepatitis associated with chronic Borrelia burgdorferi infection: a case report (Labome.org)  http://www.labome.org/research/Granulomatous-hepatitis-associated-with-chronic-Borrelia-burgdorferi-infection-a-case-report.html

Researchers find bacteria able to change dormancy time to withstand antibiotic drugs 
(Phys.org) (research was on E coli, but is interesting) http://m.phys.org/news/2014-06-bacteria-dormancy-antibiotic-drugs.html

28 Peer-reviewed articles on Congenital Transmission of Lyme/TBD  (See attachment)
Increased diversity of zoonotic pathogens and Borrelia burgdorferi strains in established versus incipient Ixodesscapularis populations across the Midwestern United States  (Infection, Genetics and Evolution) http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1567134814002068
Suspected inflammatory cardiomyopathy (Springer.com)  http://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s00059-014-4118-x
Gastrointestinal and hepatic manifestations of tickborne disease in the United States (Oxford Journals)  http://cid.oxfordjournals.org/content/34/9/1206.full.pdf
Simple objective detection of human Lyme disease infection using immuno-PCR and a single recombinant hybrid antigen  (American Society for Microbiology)  http://cvi.asm.org/content/early/2014/06/03/CVI.00245-14.short

Expert who first spotted Lyme in ticks calls 'Chronic' Lyme over diagnosed (Here and Now)  (Interview of Allan Steere on NPR) http://hereandnow.wbur.org/2014/06/24/chronic-lyme-overdiagnosed-steere  (Read the comments too)

Special Webinar on Lyme Disease and Borrelia Persistence (HHS Working Group on Lyme and other Tick-Borne Diseases)  http://www.cdc.gov/lyme/pdfs/PersistenceWebinarSlides.pdf
Letter from Perry Kendall to a Lyme Patient re: BC CDC (June 24, 2014)  - See attached.

BC has failed Lyme disease patients (Letter to Editor from Chris Powell in the Victoria Times Colonist, June 22, 2014)  http://www.timescolonist.com/opinion/letters/b-c-has-failed-lyme-disease-patients-1.1138563
A welcome step in the right direction (Letter to Editor from Emma Wilson-Pease in theTimes Colonist, June 21, 2014)  http://www.timescolonist.com/opinion/letters/a-welcome-step-in-the-right-direction-1.1138466

Comment:  BC needs to move ahead on Lyme disease (Gwen Barlee, Times Colonist, June 18, 2014)  http://www.timescolonist.com/opinion/op-ed/comment-b-c-needs-to-move-ahead-on-lyme-disease-1.1133541

CDC:  Lyme Disease Test Raises Concerns  (JAMA)  http://jama.jamanetwork.com/article.aspx?articleID=1881328
Dr Liz Zubek's public resignation from the Complex Chronic Disease Program (See attached)

A Vancouver doctor who was paid about $5000 a week but saw only one patient a week.  Really?  (Vancouver Sun) http://blogs.vancouversun.com/2014/06/15/a-vancouver-doctor-who-was-paid-about-5000-a-week-but-saw-only-one-patient-a-week-really/


10 year-old quadruplets from BC all diagnosed with Lyme disease  (The Province)  http://www.theprovince.com/health/10yearold+quadruplets+from+diagnosed+with+Lyme+disease/9974568/story.html

Persistent Lyme infection may cause hepatitis  http://lymedisease.org/news/lyme_disease_views/lyme-hepatitis.html

Babesia odocoilei recently detected in Canada (HealthyWildlife.ca)  http://www.healthywildlife.ca/babesia-odocoilei-recently-detected-in-canada/

LIsten to an interview of Gwen Barlee by Ian Jessop's on CFAX Radio, June 23rd, 2014 (Click on the soundtrack bar at the top, interview starts at 33 min, 15 seconds)  https://soundcloud.com/ian-jessop-cfax/june-23-2pm?in=ian-jessop-cfax%2Fsets%2Fian-jessop

Lucky in Lyme, by LIsa Robertson (CanLyme)  http://canlyme.com/2014/06/18/lucky-in-lyme/  (Note:  Lisa Robertson is an author from Alberta)

Dr Jemsek and Dr Horowitz featured in Lyme Lights story (ILADS)  http://www.ilads.org/ilads_news/2014/dr-jemsek-and-dr-horowitz-featured-in-lyme-light-story/

Ticks crawl north, bringing threat of Lyme disease (Edmonton Journal)  http://www.edmontonjournal.com/news/edmonton/Ticks+crawl+north+bringing+threat+Lyme+disease/9948315/story.html

Views:  Give Lyme victims same rights as other patients  (Poughkeepsie Journal)  http://www.poughkeepsiejournal.com/story/opinion/valley-views/2014/06/14/lyme-disease-patients-chronic/10533911/


Listen to the audio version of Dr Richard Horowitz's book, Why Can't  I Get Better?  from our local library  (Hoopla Digital) https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11046378  

Tick Identification Guide (University of Rhode Island)  http://www.tickencounter.org/tick_identification/guide
Lyme Disease Testing:  Bob Giguere from iGeneX (YouTube Video, July 2013)  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tqr2gTCnqvY&feature=youtu.be

Conversations with Dr Marty Ross - Free Webinars  http://www.treatlyme.net/marty-ross-md-conversations/
What is Lyme Disease?  (YouTube Video by Lyme Disease Network)  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tX70ivbRyJ4&feature=youtu.be

Vanessa Farnsworth on Lyme Disease in Canada (Video)  http://www.orchardtv.com/vanessafarnsworth/


July 6:    Informal support meeting 1 pm at Serious Coffee, 2401 Millstream Rd, Langford

July 10:  CBC will air Ticked Off:  The Mystery of Lyme Disease at 8 pm  http://www.cbc.ca/natureofthings/episodes/ticked-off-the-mystery-of-lyme-disease

July 12:  Support group meeting in Parksville, 1:30 pm at the Pharmasave meeting room

July 27:  Support group meeting in Victoria, 1 to 4 pm; Presentation by Emma Wilson-Pease, graduate student, on her Lyme research.  1454 Hillside Avenue